Strathearn Perthshire Past and Present In Pictures
he boathouse at GlenTurret is quite striking in its design perched on the edge of the dam built in the late 1950s to provide water for the Central Belt's new industries especially Grangemouth and its petro chemical complexes . Now owned by Famous Grouse ( whisky distillers ) it hosts the occasional " soiree " for privileged guests .
Cuthberts was a small grocer's shop in East High Street Crieff . The shop is now run by Mike Sweeney as a gents hairdressers .Pic dates back to about early 1900s .
This is Scrimgeours Department Store at the corner
of Comrie Street and West High Street Crieff . Somewhat dominating architecturally it was perhaps more suited to a larger city location than country town of Crieff . It was destroyed by fire in the 1970s and is now replaced by an an award winning residential complex ( below ) .
Here is an old pic of the picturesque village of Comrie some 7 miles west of Crieff taken in the 1860s . The curious structure on the roof of Brough and MCPhersons , Drapers is a " seismic observatory " . Comrie lies on a geolical fault and has suffered numerous " tremors " over the years . The observatory was replaced later in 1869 by a small stone structure to the west of the village in Drumearn field in the Ross. It is known as the "Earthquake House " . History tells us that one , James Drummond , a Comrie shoemaker , kept a tally of all the tremors . He together with the local post master Peter MacFarlane had founded the Comrie Pioneers in the 1830s and devised an early scale to measure seismic intensity . By 1874 a seismoscope , designed by local man Robert Mallet ( or Malloch ) , had been placed in the little building . ( see below ).
I conclude this " blog " with a charming 19th century painting of the Ward area in the ancient and delightful village of Muthill just south of Crieff . The bucolic bliss captured by the artist has, apart from the disappearance of the horse and cart , not really changed that much with the passage of time . The dominating tower of the 12th century church is still with us, are indeed those cosy little cottages of yesteryear .